Home » Perversion and Utopia by Joel Whitebook
Perversion and Utopia Joel Whitebook

Perversion and Utopia

Joel Whitebook

Published May 14th 2014
ISBN : 9780585337166
Unknown Binding
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

In this sweeping challenge to the postmodern critiques of psychoanalysis, Joel Whitebook argues for a reintegration of Freuds uncompromising investigation of the unconscious with the political and philosophical insights of critical theory.MoreIn this sweeping challenge to the postmodern critiques of psychoanalysis, Joel Whitebook argues for a reintegration of Freuds uncompromising investigation of the unconscious with the political and philosophical insights of critical theory. Perversion and Utopia follows in the tradition of Herbert Marcuses Eros and Civilization and Paul Ricoeurs Freud and Philosophy. It expands on these books, however, because of the authors remarkable grasp not only of psychoanalytic studies but also of the contemporary critical climate- Whitebook, a philosopher and a psychoanalyst, writes with equal facility on both Habermas and Freud.